Itchy Thumbs

Completing games then reviewing them

Super Mario Galaxy 2

Posted by D on November 23, 2010

Yo, what is up with this game? I’ll tell you what’s up with this game – it is stone cold awesome although largely identical to it’s predcessor. I broadly like both games in this series, this second one iterates on the first in a pleasing although not very adventurous manner. We’ve got Yoshi (yay!) and a steeper and higher difficultly curve the latter of which makes this a more solid and worthwhile purchase. Flipside is that you’ve seen it all before and even at it’s hardest it’s not really that hard. I’ve heard it said that it’s some manner of object lesson in games design and I’m not sure I’m on board with that. From that point of view both  Super Mario Bros Wii and Yoshi’s Island DS are stronger games in my opinion. But SMG2 simply never makes any missteps. Gone is “play the whole game again as Luigi for a single bonus star” and instead they’ve added hidden green stars that you can go back and collect. It is a nicer way to encourage people to revisit levels without making them just replay the level. But at the end of the game when the green stars are unlocked you end up having to grind each level 3 times to collect each star. And it gets a bit boring seeing the level over and over. Were it me I’d have had 1 or 2 of the hidden green stars available during the initial run through of the game so you could have broken up the green star collection throughout the play time rather than doing it all at the end. Also Gone is the hub world, replaced with a Mario Bros 3 style level select. It streamlines the level selection process but I kind of liked the hub world.

One thing that does baffle me is that in the Boss Blitz Galaxy, which is effectively a SMG1 boss rush, I really don’t understand how it is that I defeated the Bouldergeist so easily without being hit. I swear to god I near destroy thing, people and pets in frustration trying to complete the SMG1 Bouldergeist Perfect Run challenge. Go figure, maybe I am getting better at this stuff. I remain eternally grateful that there was no revisit of the Luigi’s Purple Coins challenge. Because that was eye stabbingly horrific in SMG1. So saying the Granmaster Galaxy Perfect Run challenge in this game was so much bullshit. God damn it that was hard and so, so, so, very much harder than anything else the game had to offer. And as I’ve said before I hate it when games have weird huge steps in their difficulty curve. Also, what was with the paper play guide and How To Play DVD that came with the game? It’s not like all the information wasn’t in the game. Like I care to and have the time to watch a DVD about playing a game I’m just about to play. Odd.

So if you’ve not played it already or got bored of it by now this is a game worth having.

Leave a Reply

 
