Itchy Thumbs

Completing games then reviewing them

New Super Mario Bros. Wii

Posted by D on November 23, 2010

I don’t really have a great deal to say about this. It is a tour de force of 2D platform design. End-to-end -spectacularly put together and brilliant. I’m not entirely sure what the multiplayer brings to the table, it’s kind of diverting but really frustrating and none of the platforming elements require more than one person to execute. But it was fun watching the unlockable multiplayer play throughs of levels, that is some awesome expert shizzle but so far beyond what I’m ever going to sit down and coordinate with friends. So yeah. And I can’t say I liked the shake-to-spin control, would rather that had been mapped to a button instead and I simply do not understand why I couldn’t use my classic controller, what was that money spent for? All that aside it is my favourite Mario Bros game since either Super Mario World or Mario 64DS or Yoshi’s Island or Yoshi’s Island DS. You know what, fuck it. All Mario platformers are good. Just go out,  buy them and shut up.

Leave a Reply

 
